Books in Print

independent Australian bookselling since 1988

21 Feb 2014

BiP eNews: New and forthcoming adult fiction

BiP staff review by Leonie

North of Boston
by Elisabeth Elo
Jan 2014 | Hachette | $29.99pb

North of Boston is Elisabeth Elo's first crime novel and it is a really good read. Pirio Kasparov was helping out on a friend's fishing boat when it was rammed by a large vessel which appeared out of the fog and then disappeared. Ned, the boat's skipper, was lost overboard but Pirio, miraculously, survived for four hours in the freezing waters north of Boston before she was rescued. Pirio feels that the collision was a deliberate act rather than a tragic accident, and she sets out to discover the truth. She enlists the help of a mysterious journalist who is also looking into the story. They soon find themselves in great danger.





BiP staff review by Karen

Kill Your Boss
by Shane Kuhn
Jan 2014 | Hachette | $29.99pb

John Lago (not his real name, of course) is a hit man working for Human Resources Inc., an organisation that masquerades as a placement agency for interns. These interns are trained assassins, and are hired by multinational corporations and government agencies. An intern gains access to the intended victim, then gains their trust so that the victim will trust them with their life, and that is when the intern takes their life! When john meets Alice, a fellow intern, he feels his emotions stirring. But does Alice have her own agenda? Has John possibly met his match? Humorous and very entertaining, Kill Your Boss is a great read.





BiP staff review by Leonie
The Tea Chest
by Josephine Moon
Apr 2014 | Allen & Unwin | $29.99pb

Kate Fullerton is a young Brisbane mother and designer of tea blends. When the co-owner of a boutique tea shop in London dies, Kate inherits a share of the business on the understanding that she will go ahead with the opening of a new shop. When Leila and Elizabeth (along with the feisty young Victoria) enter Kate's world, the women throw themselves into realising Kate's vision of the most delectable tea shop in London. But with the very real possibility that The Tea Chest may fail, the three women are forced to decide what's important to each of them. This is the perfect book for our readers who love Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly and Monica McInerney.

>>> Read the first chapter




BREAKING NEWS!

The Silkworm
by Robert Galbraith
Jun 2014 | Sphere | $32.99pb    *BiP price $27.95

Robert Galbraith's second crime novel featuring the detective Cormoran Strike will be published in Australia on 19th June 2014.

You will know that Galbraith's alter ego is J.K. Rowling. 


The Silkworm will be released at $32.99 in paperback, but you can reserve copies of the book at the special BiP price of $27.95

New Series' for Early Readers

Woolly Wombat Early Readers
by Kerry Argent
Mar 2014 | Scholastic | $6.99pb (ea.)

Kerry Argent’s well-loved Wombat stars in a beautifully illustrated series of books that are perfect for encouraging those at the very beginning of their reading. Simple language, full-colour pictures and cast of Australian animal characters make this collection a delightful introduction to independent reading for children of 4 and up. One Woolly Wombat, Hide and Seek, Best of Friends and At the Beach are available now.



Double Trouble: Prank Alert and Skateboard Stars
by Fiona Regan and Louis Shea
Feb 2014 | Scholastic | $3.99pb / $7.99pb

Seven-year-old identical twins Thomas and Cooper love pulling pranks almost as much as they love skateboarding. Hilariously illustrated, this cheeky new series is ideal for beginning readers aged 7 and up. Books 3 and 4 will be available in June.



Lotus Lane (Books 1 - 4)
by Kyla May
Sept 2013 | Scholastic | $7.99pb (ea.)

We love getting feedback from parents, particularly those with reluctant reader success stories to tell, and we’re pleased to report that this series has been a huge hit with girls aged 8 and up. Written in diary form, the girls of Lotus Lane are a lot of fun to get to know. The first four titles—Kiki: My Stylish Life, Coco: My Delicious Life, Lulu: My Glamorous Life and Mika: My New Life—are available now.


The Tinker's Three: A Very Good Idea (1)
by M. C. Badger & Leigh Brown
Feb 2014 | Egmont | $12.95pb

Marcus, Mila and Turtle Tinkler's parents are circus performers. Living perfectly well, by themselves on the thirty-third floor of their building, these brave, independent and highly inventive children share some pretty crazy adventures! A laugh-out-loud Australian series for readers of 7 and up. A Very Good Idea; An Excellent Invention and The Coolest Pool are out now; The Perfect Pet is due to be released in June.

17 Feb 2014

2014 Indie Awards Shortlist

The Indie Awards are awarded by the Australian Independent Booksellers and sees independent booksellers take their rightful place in the spotlight as key supporters of Australian authors. The incredible passion and knowledge of independent booksellers makes them uniquely placed to judge and recommend the best Australian books of the past year to their customers and the general reading public.

- Fiction -
         
Eyrie by Tim Winton (Penguin)
Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin)
Coal Creek by Alex Miller (Allen & Unwin)
The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (Random House)

- Non-Fiction -
         
Girt by David Hunt (Black Inc)
Murder in Mississippi by John Safran (Penguin)
The Stalking of Julia Gillard by Kerry-Anne Walsh (Allen & Unwin)
The Good Life by Hugh Mackay (Macmillan)

- Debut Fiction -
         
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (Macmillan)
Mr Wigg by Inga Simpson (Hachette Hodder)
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion (Text)
The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane (Penguin)

- Children's -
         
Alphabetical Sydney by Hilary Bell and Antonia Pesenti (NewSouth Books)
Kissed by the Moon by Alison Lester (Penguin)
The 39-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton (Macmillan)
Weirdo by Anh Do (Scholastic)

_________________________________________________________________________

The category winners and the overall ‘Book of the Year’ winner will be announced on Wednesday, 26 March 2014

13 Feb 2014

2014 Stella Prize Longlist


- Fiction -
Burial Rites  Letter to George Clooney  Mullumbimby
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (Picador)
Letter to George Clooney by Debra Adelaide (Picador)
Mullumbimby by Melissa Lucashenko (UQP)

The Night Guest  All the Birds Singing  The Swan Book
The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane (Penguin)
The Swan Book by Alexis Wright (Giramondo) 
All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld (Random House) 

- Non-Fiction -
Moving Among Strangers  Night Games  Forgotten Rebels of Eureka
Moving Among Strangers by Gabrielle Carey (UQP)
Night Games by Anna Krien (Black Inc)
The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka by Clare Wright (Text)

The Misogyny Factor  Boy Lost  Madeleine
Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir by Kristina Olsson (UQP)
The Misogyny Factor by Anne Summers (NewSouth)
Madeleine: A Life of Madeleine St John by Helen Trinca (Text)
_________________________________________

Shortlist released 20 March 2014
Winner announced 29 April 2014

7 Feb 2014

BiP eNews: New and Interesting Non-Fiction for Children



Teenage Kitchen Rampage

Peter Oxley | Dec 2013 | $24.95hb

There have been a number of cookbooks for children and young adults over the years, but few have had quite the visual impact of legendary Australian rocker Peter Oxley’s (of the Sunnyboys) Teenage Kitchen Rampage. You’ll find 45 basic but delicious recipes explained simply and succinctly here, accompanied by truly gorgeous food photography. Sit back and relax while the kids do the cooking!


Guinness World Records 2014: Gamer's Edition

Guinness Publishing | Dec 2013 | $22.99pb

The ultimate guide to video games, this all-new book is bursting with news and views from the gaming world, with the latest and very best records relating to the world's most popular games. Amazing trivia sits alongside hard facts and top tips on how to achieve greater feats in the games you love.




It Can't Be True! Incredible Visual Comparisons

Dorling Kindersley | Sept 2013 | $24.99hb

Did you know that the Moon is the same size as Australia? Or that a blue whale's heart is as large as a car? From the tiniest microchips to the massive, swirling planet Jupiter, with stunning photographs and images to help you visualise and understand each comparison, It Can’t Be True is full of facts that prove truth really is stranger than fiction.


Fighting For Freedom: Nancy Wake

Cassy Liberman & Lucy Desbordes | $29.95hb

Fighting for Freedom is a richly illustrated introduction to the incredible life of Nancy Wake, a.k.a. The White Mouse, a New Zealand-born woman recognised around the world as a genuine heroine of WWII. Inspirational reading for kids of 7 and up about a strong, independent and unconventional woman.



DK Knowledge Encyclopedia

Dorling Kindersley | Sept 2013 | $39.99hb

We sold out of this fascinating, groundbreaking book of facts before Christmas and we are thrilled it’s back in stock! A huge, fantastically-illustrated encyclopedia that shows you the world as you’ve never seen it before; an incredible reference book the whole family will return to time and again.



Dr Karl's Big Book of Science Stuff and Nonsense

Dr Karl Kruszelnicki | Dec 2013 | $17.99pb

An activity book with a difference that's bigger than the Big Bang. Stuffed with things to read, draw, puzzle, invent, create and decode, prepare to be engrossed in the wonderful, fascinating, intriguing world of Dr Karl Kruszelnicki—Australia's most popular scientist. Recommended for ages 7 and up.

The Road to Reckoning by Robert Lautner

Feb 2014 | $27.99pb | HarperCollins

This literary crime novel set in 1800s Pennsylvania captures the unlikely friendship between a spirited young boy and a gruff ex-ranger on a shared quest for vengeance. Twelve-year-old Thomas Walker has never left New York City. His father, a travelling salesman hoping to earn money by selling Samuel Colt’s recent invention, the “Improved Revolving Gun,” takes young Thomas with him on the road. But even the world’s first true revolver cannot save them from danger, and what starts as an adventure soon turns into a nightmare.

When his father is murdered, Thomas must rely on his own wits, courage, and determination, as well as a wooden replica of the Colt revolver, to protect himself. Luckily, an encounter with a surly ex-ranger, Henry Stands, leads to an improbable partnership, and the two set out in perilous pursuit of vengeance—that is, if they can escape the thieves who lurk around each trail, river, and road. This spare, elegant, and emotionally resonant story conveys, through a boy’s eyes, the pain of losing a father as well as the fascinating history of how the birth of the revolver changed the course of violence in America.